Traffic Offenses
Bridgewater Traffic Ticket Lawyer
A ticket for a traffic offense or moving violation may result in payment of fines and surcharges as well as points on your license which could lead to an assessment of insurance eligibility points and a huge increase in your insurance premium. Also, if you already have points on your license additional points can result in a suspension of your driving privileges.

New Jersey's Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) has established a point system for various motor vehicle violations. (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10-1)
Some of the most common violations resulting in points are:
Careless Driving 2
Reckelss Driving 5
Failure to yield/stop 2
Improper Passing 5
Improper Turns 2
Passing a stopped school bus 5
Speeding - 1 to 14 miles over speed limit 2
Speeding - 15 to 29 miles over speed limit 4
Speeding - 30 or more miles over speed limit 5
Tailgating (following too closely) 5

For a complete list of all moving violations with points assessed click here.
If you accumulate too many points on your license, it can lead to a suspension as follows:
30 days 12-15 points in 2 years or less or 12-18 points in 2 or more years
60 days 16-18 points in 2 years or less or 19-22 points in 2 or more years
90 days 19-21 points in 2 years or less or 23-26 points in 2 or more years
120 days 22-24 points in 2 years or less or 27-30 points in 2 or more years
150 days 25-27 points in 2 years or less or 27-30 points in 2 or more years
At least 180 days 28 or more points in 2 years or less or 36 or more points in 2 or more years
In addition to the fines, court costs, and possible points which result from a traffic ticket, the MVC under N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35(b) will assess a yearly surcharge to any driver who accumulates 6 or more points in the previous three years. Any points credited back to your license are ignored when assessing surcharges. The yearly surcharge starts at $150 for the first 6 points and increases in $25 increments for each additional point. In addition to surcharges imposed for accumulating too many points, the MVC will impose surcharges on a yearly basis for three years for certain offenses that do not carry any points such as unlicensed driver ($100), driving on the revoked list ($250) or no insurance on a motor vehicle ($250).

A traffic ticket can result in fines and points on your license that can impact your insurance premiums, your wallet and even your driving privileges. A good lawyer can help you find the best deal which results in the lowest fines, fees and points assessed.

Contact Lenahan & Rockwell to speak to one of our experienced Municipal Court attorneys.
Also See:
Driving Without Insurance In New Jersey
Traffic Violation Suspended License
Suspended Oe Revoked License
Carelss Or Reckless Driving In New Jersey
Leaving The Scene Of An Accident
New Jersey Speeding Ticket
     With Offices in Bridgewater and Freehold, New Jersey, the trial lawyers at Lenahan & Rockwell represent clients throughout New Jersey, including the cities of Bridgewater, Freehold, Morristown, New Brunswick, Somerville, Edison, Toms River and Elizabeth. Our litigation attorneys also represent clients throughout the communities in and around Monmouth, Essex, Middlesex, Somerset, Hunterdon, Morris, Union, Mercer, Bergen, Passaic, Hudson, Gloucester, and Ocean counties.
© 2021 Lenahan & Rockwell.  All rights reserved.        Disclaimer        Site Map
Website developed by Custom Web Design, Inc. --